Make your own free website on

Awards for Books



Members of the Indian History Congress, authors, publishers and all those interested are invited to send recommendations for this prestigious award to Dr B.P. Sahu, Joint Secretary, Indian History Congress, Department of History, Delhi University, Delhi-110007. Any Indian author of a notable historical work published in the calendar years 1997 and 1998 would be eligible. The Award consists of Rs 25,000, a citation and a plaque. A committee of three independent experts decide on the award. All persons making a recommendation are requested to send two copies of the book along with it, or, failing this, provide the fullest possible details about the book (full name of author, title, publisher, year of publication). All recommendations received by 31 August 1999 will be placed before the Committee. Details of rules of the Award can be obtained on application from me or Dr B.P. Sahu.



Recommendations are also invited for the Hira Lal Gupta Research Award for an outstanding research work work published by an Indian woman historian during the years 1994-98. The Award amounts to Rs.10,000, and will be decided upon by the same Committee as constituted for the Barpujari Award. The recommendations, on the same lines as for the Barpujari Award, should be received by Dr B.P. Sahu, Joint Secretary, IHC (address above) by 31 August 1999. Rules on application, either from me or Dr B.P. Sahu.



Shireen Moosvi

Secretary, Indian History Congress